Tags

, , ,

When I first found this recipe, I loved the fact that the title was “Kalamata” olive bread, because kalamata olives happen to be my favorite.

Foto 2-16

My sister fell in love when I first made this olive bread. She asked me to make it every weekend. Then when I got busy, she asked for the recipe to make it herself (a score for me because her asking for a recipe doesn’t happen quite often).
This recipe is very easy to make. you will not need to use your bare hands for kneading or anything of the sort.

Foto 1-17

Recipe is adapted from here.

Ingredients:
– 2 cups all purpose flour
– 1 tsp baking soda
– 1/2 tsp salt
– 1 cup low fat butter milk (add 1 tbsp of lemon juice or white vinegar to 1 cup regular low fat milk. let stand at room temperature 5-10 minutes)
– 2 tbsp olive oil (or melted butter)
– 2 large egg whites
– 1/3 cup pitted and chopped kalamata olives

Directions:
– Preheat the oven to 180℃.
– In a large bowl, combine flour, baking soda and salt. Make a well in the center of the mixture.
– In a separate bowl, combine buttermilk, olive oil and egg whites.
– Add wet ingredients to dry ingredients and stir just until moist.
– Spread batter into a greased pan and bake for 45 minutes.

