Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

There are times… those times when you feel vulnerable and it can become easy to fall prey to depression. You cannot help but feel demotivated, depressed, or feel any negativity of the sort.

These feelings that allow your mind to become flooded with thoughts of all kinds.

And then what?

You would end up feeling drained of energy. You might choose to isolate yourself and wait for the day to end, hoping that tomorrow would be a better day.

But why? why do we allow these feelings to get the best of us? why don’t we take control to minimize the occurrence of such states?

I have been feeling upset and demotivated this week. I kept pretending that everything was fine and yet I knew it was getting worse.

Until yesterday and after an unexpected conversation I had, I started directing my thoughts more effectively. I started thinking of every possible thing that I am thankful for, every possible thing that makes me happy.

It worked! It worked for real!

Easier said than done? of course.  Why? because for something to become easy, it needs practice. It needs to become a habit.

I have practiced gratitude for the simplest of things for long and I have been a happier person ever since. It is amazing how such practice changes one’s perception of what happens around us.

The best part is… the state of euphoria that you could reach by continuously embracing your blessings and contemplating the pleasant surroundings.

Reading the book “The Power of Your Subconscious Mind” by Joseph Murphy has been tremendously helpful as well. I have seen the miraculous power of frequent affirmation of the good and the power of prayer. No exaggeration!

I have been keeping notes of my favorite statements and sayings with me at all times ever since I started reading this book.

I thought I would share with you one of my favorite constructive statements that I try to repeat frequently: (it works best when I close my eyes and take a deep breath)

“Whenever my attention wanders away from that which is good and constructive, I will immediately bring it back to the contemplation of that which is lovely and of good report. I am a spiritual and mental magnet attracting to myself all things that bless and prosper me. I am going to be a wonderful success in all my undertakings today. I am definitely going to be happy all day long”.

Although controlling thoughts could seem like an ongoing battle, we can choose to win the battle.

and remember…

Foto-68

We have the capacity to choose. Let us choose to nourish our minds with thoughts of happiness, harmony, positivity, optimism and prosperity.

And if sometimes it happens that we just cannot choose because of certain circumstances, let us pray sincerely for guidance. Let us always pray for guidance.

