Tags

, , , , ,

I was away on a trip last week and I was craving mexican food. Specifically shrimp Fajitas (and later chicken so I ordered a mix of chicken and shrimp).

I looked up mexican restaurants where I was heading and I was lucky to have a great food experience at the one I chose.

Unfortunately I did not take pictures of food but this is the only picture that I have. I really loved the ambience and this indoor waterfall.

Foto-71

The restaurant served chips, and guacamole that is made in front of you. I wasn’t really excited to try it because I wanted cheese with chips!

I did try it though and it tasted great! No, it tasted super great!

The texture and saltiness of the chips and the guacamole were just perfect. I did not realize that I have missed eating avocados until that moment.

I decided that when I go back home, the first item on my to-buy list would be avocado.

I went back home very excited to recreate what I have tried.

isn’t this a pretty recreation?

Screen Shot 2014-12-16 at 2.56.34 PM

Very simple recipe. Perfect for breakfast or as a snack.

Screen Shot 2014-12-16 at 2.59.01 PM

One more picture?

Screen Shot 2014-12-16 at 3.01.10 PM

Ingredients:

For the dip:

  • 1 medium avocado
  • Quarter of a medium-sized tomato, diced.
  • sea salt (to taste)
  • 1 teaspoon fresh lemon juice

For the chips:

  • Soy flat bread (or any flat bread of choice. If you could get your hands on healthy tortillas then go ahead and use that)
  • Olive oil
  • Sea salt and black pepper

Directions:

  • Preheat the oven to 180 ℃.
  • For the chips: cut the soy bread into triangles. Brush each (both sides if you want) with olive oil then sprinkle with sea salt and black pepper. Bake until crisp.
  • For the dip: cut the avocado in half. Scoop the flesh and mash in a bowl with a fork. Add chopped tomato, salt and fresh lemon juice.

Enjoy!

